Watch your palace fall – Conor Harrington Exhibition.

Thursday 14 September 2016 – London.

It has been a long time since I wrote anything about street art or street art related activities. The London scene has shrunk remarkably from those busy, busy days of three of four years ago. I occasionally go out with Darryl for a look around and he invites me to gallery openings and viewings, but like so many things I never seem to have the time to go to much. I have been sick these past few days, nothing serious, just a draining fluey cold. El has had a slight variation as well, and we have both been off work with it. Being off work sick is less fun when you are being paid daily. No workee = no money, so I am not milking this!

In preparation for my trip to India in November, and deciding  to travel with the DSLR for the first time, I have had the camera’s sensor professionally cleaned. I have noticed smudges on it the last couple of times I used it and it has been a long time since it was done. I had to pick it up today so decided to head in to the city, grab the camera, quickly catch up with Darryl and go see the Conor Harrington exhibition in Soho as it was not too far from the camera shop.

I have been a fan of Conor Harrington’s work since I first saw it on the streets of London in 2013. His street work is usually done on large walls, and he has quite a unique style. I have seen a couple of canvases in galleries, but not been to a solo show before.

The show “Watch your palace fall” is being held in the Pace London gallery space, in conjunction with the launch of a book of his work.

img_0642

The pieces are all loyal to his ‘street’ style, big canvases, with loads of colour and a mix between realism and abstract.

img_0640

As I was picking up the DSLR I packed a small 50mm lens in my bag, normally this is fine for galleries, but not today. There were poles in the viewing area which prevented me from getting far enough away to take photos of a couple of the pieces.  Oh well, seeing is just as good.

img_0641

My favourite was this diptych of a tug of war, battle for our souls between red and blue, left and right. Lovely.

img_0645

img_0648
img_0646 img_0643

It is a great exhibition and if you get a chance to go and see it, I highly recommend it.

img_0649

I have seen a few of his street pieces over the years, there is even one in Walthamstow, which was painted in 2015.

walthamstow-may-2015

I have had a look around my collection and found these, though I am sure I have seen more of them. I think themagnificent, indoor/outdoor exhibition, ‘Baroque the Streets’, in Dulwich in May 2013 was the first time I saw one of his pieces, and it’s still one of my favourites

baroque-the-streets-may-2013

Whitecross St, July 2013.

whitecross-street-july-2013

Bristol, Sep 2013.

bristol-sep-2013

Finally, a gallery piece from the awesome ‘Brutal’ group Exhibition, held in Nov 2013. This show was held in the basement of an empty office block in the Strand.  What an amazing venue for an exhibition, dark, damp and a little eerie.

 brutal-exhibition-nov-2013

Thanks Conor for brightening up the streets 🙂

And thanks Darryl for getting me along, though I did have to lie down when I got home.

About wheresphil

Originally from Auckland, New Zealand, now living in London.
This entry was posted in Blog, Street Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

