St Mary’s Church, Walthamstow.

Sunday 07 June 2015 – Walthamstow.

Like the Parkland Walk from yesterday, an exploration of Walthamstow’s St Mary’s Church has been on my to-do list for over a year, and since becoming a worker I have just not had the time or the inclination to explore it, even though it is only a ten minute walk from home…

St Mary’s has had a longer history than I first thought with the first church being built on the site in the 12 century, though not much of the original building remains perhaps just the footers at the end of the internal columns right at the front of the church. Reconstruction, modification and expansion of the church regularly took place over the next 400 hundred years with further work in the 19th century.

This was slightly wasted as the church was extensively damaged during the second world war and all the railings around the church yard were removed for the war effort – to be replaced in the 1950s.

It was a fairly last minute decision to walk up and take some photos, we had been having some quite nice weather and the grass around the gravestones was long and moody and I knew that if I left it until my trip to New Zealand this week, it would all be mowed flat when I returned.

I have not used my big old DSLR for ages, but once I started using it again I realised how much of a mistake that was. I love that camera.

IMG_9574

IMG_9533

IMG_9535

IMG_9537

IMG_9579

IMG_9577

IMG_9578

IMG_9580

IMG_9570

IMG_9539

IMG_9541

IMG_9544

IMG_9545

IMG_9542

IMG_9552

IMG_9553

IMG_9555

IMG_9559

IMG_9560

IMG_9561

IMG_9563

IMG_9565

IMG_9567

IMG_9571

IMG_9572

IMG_9573

About wheresphil

Originally from Auckland, New Zealand, now living in London.
This entry was posted in Blog, Britain, England and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

