A day trip to Brighton

Thursday 29 August 2013 – Brighton.

Wow, another month has almost gone and I am still unemployed in London. I have had one interview since last writing though in the end this did turn into a job – oh well, such is life and all that. Just to let you know, I am actually doing OK with this. I have my moments of doubt that I will ever get a job, but I did know it was going to be tough and take some time. I am pretty happy though, so no need to worry.

Not working does mean I get to get out and about when I am asked and today was my first trip out of London for a couple of weeks. Photographer buddy Steve had a few days off work so we decided to head down to Brighton and have a wander around, sample a couple of ales and take some photos.

I liked Brighton, this time I saw a bit more of it than when I was down there last September. The main downtown area is very orientated to tourism, with some cool markets with some interesting shops.

img_7310.jpg

img_7311.jpg

There is quite a few big murals around the market area and I have put most of these on a separate street art post on my Photos by Phil blog. But I had to include one or two, and these cassettes are just everywhere.

img_7304.jpg

Just behind the shops I found this small scooter chained to the side of a house – weird…

img_7312.jpg

The light was savage so I did not end up taking too many photos, plus I had visited the pier last time I was down so though it was of the key sights in Brighton we decided not to visit it.

We did take a walk along the beach.

img_7321-edit.jpg

img_7320.jpgimg_7328.jpg

And walked around the outside of the totally bizarre Pavilion. It was built in the early 1800’s and has to be one of the more unusual buildings in the UK.

img_7318.jpg

Back into town again we walked down some of the narrow alley ways that run through the old part of town, before stopping for a cooling ale or two before catching the train back up to London.

img_7323.jpgimg_7324.jpgimg_7340.jpg

Though we did not visit this pub with its cool mural up near the station.

img_7346.jpg

It was another good day out, but sadly I was not feeling particularly photographically inspired so ended up taking less than I should have. It is only an hour by train.

This weekend El and I are off to Edinburgh, I hoping I get some photo mojo back then as I have been really looking forward to this trip !

About wheresphil

Originally from Auckland, New Zealand, now living in London.
This entry was posted in Blog, England and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A day trip to Brighton

  1. aqueoussun says:

    Getting more jealous of your 16mm every time I see your pics, Phil….

Leave a Reply

