Southbank photo walk.

Thursday 18 July 2013 – London.

Well it has been a pretty busy week with social activities happening every day. It is a pity I cannot say the same on the job front, but I am still plugging away at it with a couple of agencies rung and jobs applied for, one day, one day.

Today I had two things on, a visit to Sydenham to see the new street art which I  wrote about in the previous post and then in the evening I met up with a fellow photographer and music lover Steve for a photo walk along South Bank – though I will say not a lot of photographer happened.

I have been waiting for the shutters to be down on these shops near my house so I could get a photo of the old Malarky paintings. The last time I saw them down I did not have my camera on me.

IMG 6983

I met Steve at the skate park and took some photos while I waited, there was not a lot of action at the time but I did manage to get a couple of good shots, I am a bit gutted I cut his hand off, otherwise this would be near perfect !

IMG 6987

The next one was a better photo, just the action wasnt as good 🙂

IMG 6989

Steve and I didn’t take any photos between the skate park and London Bridge, we walked and chatted and battled out way through the crowds taking advantage of another lovely summer evening. I stopped for a look at Hays Galleria on the far side of London Bridge and there were some people playing petanque over a glass of plonk (or more I suspect).

IMG 6992

We walked around the More London area for a while, past the Batman logo of the PWC building.

IMG 6997

We had a bit of a play with some of the angles in the buildings around here.

IMG 6999

IMG 7002

As we passed Tower Bridge I took this picture to add to my collection of skylines. You have to love that sky!

IMG 7009

I had heard that the barge I photographed earlier in the week with a new painting on it by Alice Pasquini was being painted some more so we walked up to have a look, but the new painting was hidden behind an old sailing barge so there was not much to see apart from this on a wall.

IMG 7012

We crossed over Tower bridge and took a walk around the rich kids play ground of St Katherines dock, we were looking for a decent angle to get a sunset over Tower Bridge but there was not much happening there so we decided to head back over to the south side of the Thames and grab a pint or two. As we were crossing the bridge the alarm went, the gates were closed and the bridge was raised. This was very cool, I have never seen the bridge up before – a new experience.

IMG 7016

IMG 7017

We did end up having a couple of pints, it was a good night and an end to a good day.

About wheresphil

Originally from Auckland, New Zealand, now living in London.
This entry was posted in Blog, England and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Southbank photo walk.

  1. aqueoussun says:

    Great stuff again…. I’m very jealous of that 16mm wide angle of yours! Shame the pub ran out of Brewdog just as they were pouring mine….

  2. wheresphil says:

    Thanks Steve, I guess we will have to do that walk again, or at least the beer bit at the end 🙂

Leave a Reply

