The (limited) street art of Ladbroke Grove.

Wednesday 19 June 2013 – Ladbroke Grove, London.

For a while now I have been wanting to check to see if there was any street art left near the Westway at the ends of both Portobello Rd and Ladbroke Grove. Yesterday I was meeting a friend for lunch in Shephards Bush so I took the opportunity to catch the tube to Westbourne Grove and have a look around, before walking to She Bu. Naturally I chose the hottest day of the year so far. At 26 degrees and with high humidity I really should have worn shorts as it was a sticky walk.

There are a couple of pieces at the end of Portobello Rd that I have seen before, mainly this piece by Banksy.

IMG 6243

and this piece by Paul don Smith.

IMG 6244

This piece by CODE FC, looks quite old as well.

P1020070

I walked up Portobello Rd as I was looking for the Graffik Gallery which has a collection of very expensive work for sale, but was in between exhibitions. On the outside of their building was another one of the “Thomas the tank’ stencils I saw for the first time in Blackall St last Friday, I now know they are by iCON.

The area under the arches of the Westway was barriered off with hoardings and behind them I spotted a couple of Stiks as well as some other work but I could not get a clear look at them so I followed the Westway down to Ladbroke Grove in the hunt for some rumoured painting there. I did find two walls in the same block that had been painted. iCON seems to be quite prolific here.

P1020076

P1020079

P1020080

As well as a piece by Elmo Hood

P1020073

And a few other bits and pieces

P1020075

P1020078

P1020081

I walked around a bit more but did not find anything else, though I was pretty happy to find any at all, the London Borough of Kensington and Chelsea is not really a street art / graffiti place !

About wheresphil

Originally from Auckland, New Zealand, now living in London.
This entry was posted in Blog, England, Street Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The (limited) street art of Ladbroke Grove.

  1. Vicki Woolley says:

    I really really LIKE quite a few of these. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

