A quick walk to Greenwich

Monday 04 March 2013 – Greenwich.

A quick post. I am running out of time before I leave and though I am reasonably busy and sort of excited about getting onto the plane and travelling again, I am also very unmotivated and going through a rather lazy patch!

I have been meaning to visit Greenwich for weeks but have never ever made it and today I had no intention of making it either as I had a number of things to do, but….

I needed to go to the post office to get a couple of boxes to mail some stuff back to New Zealand and Australia. I would be arriving in the late autumn and would have no clothes suitable for the colder weather and now I have shopped here in London I really did not need to buy any more clothes. The Borough post office is not that far away from here so early-afternoon I decided to walk in the opposite direction, capitalise on some nice weather and get a decent walk in. I just seemed to carry on going east and ended up in Greenwich.

The Thames path moves in and out of side streets and sadly cannot follow the river all the way from London Bridge to Greenwich so for most part I just walked the main roads, it was still an interesting walk, occasionally I dropped down to the river for a look.

Canary Wharf from the other side.

P1000021

A really helpful sign!

P1000024

I reached Greenwich mid-afternoon and did not give myself enough time really see the place. I had not realised how big the historic site is, and a beautiful place it surely is. A place  I will certainly come back to when I do get back to London.

P1000033

The Cutty Sark is one of only a small number of preserved clipper ships anywhere in the world.

P1000025

P1000031

I know nothing about most of these buildings, just that I like them.

P1000037

P1000039

P1000043

P1000048

I have heard an awful lot about Greenwich, none of it bad, and I can see why. It is another beautiful part of London, especially on a stunning spring day like today. I cannot wait to come back again.

Five more sleeps until I am on the plane to Sri Lanka !!!

About wheresphil

Originally from Auckland, New Zealand, now living in London.
This entry was posted in Blog, England and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A quick walk to Greenwich

  1. lidipiri says:

    I love the London that you bring to us with your photos and am super excited that I will be visiting in May. Sri Lanka? Starting to envy you (in a good way) already.

    • wheresphil says:

      I highly recommend a trip to Greenwich, it is a beautiful spot, especially on a sunny. I would also recommend going mid-week when there are less people !!

Leave a Reply

